15.05.2012 - Open League Preview
Vienna Cricket Club, as 2011 Open League Runners-up, have avoided defending champions Pakistan Cricket Wien (PCW), who won the competition at their first attempt, in the initial group stages of the Open League, which will be played entirely over 50 overs per innings in 2012.
In the group phase Vienna CC are in a group with Pakistan CC (winners four times in a row 2007-10) as well as Austria CC Wien with their encounter in the "Vienna derby" being played in Seebarn this year, after Vienna CC beat ACC Wien in Markomannenstrasse last summer. Ljubljana CC are the sole non-Viennese team in Group B, with Sri Lankan CC and Pakistan Cricket Austria (PCA) making up the group.
The top three in Group B will carry their points over from their fixtures and will then play three fixtures against the top three teams in Group A to form division 1 (previously Super Sixes stage). The bottom three teams will play against the bottom three teams from Group A to form division 2. The top 4 in division 1 will then proceed to the knockout stages - semi-final and final to decide the ACA Open League Champions for 2012.